Autostrada Biennale announces participating artists in the first edition that will be held on 19 August – 23 September 2017 in Prizren, Kosovo

Prizren, 22 July 2017 – International Biennale of Contemporary Art “Autostrada Biennale” with great pleasure announces the selection of artists from the chief curator, Manray HSU.

The theme “The future of borders" was chosen for the first edition, to boldly address notions of visible and invisible borders and convey the message of necessity to form a more livable collectivity.

"The future of borders" will highlight the occurrences that lie among various borders existing in human and non-human environments. As different languages and cultures influence the patterns of human behavior, the main role of art is to address diversity and to identify sources of different social blockages in order to pave the way for a shared collective life, moderating social polarization.

The first edition of Autostrada Biennale will use Prizren’s opulent historic sites in accordance with the themes and forms developed in the art works. The Bus Station and its vicinity will roughly focus on is-sues of mobility, migration, national and ethnic borders. Spread out in the city center are some works related to the city life, history and cultural diversity. Across the Lumbardhi River at the Marash area, hillsides, and the Castle will find works related to ruins, human-natural environments, and the time-space beyond human borders. While the diverse positions of the artists can hardly be confined to sim-ple spatial deployment in the city, they are there to also help redefine Prizren’s topography through the interaction with the visitors.

The exhibition opens on 19 August, with performances and events, and will be followed by a three-day conference and workshop from 20 to 22 August

While the full list of artists will be published prior to the opening of the Biennale, the following artists are preparing their presentation in Prizren:

Alketa Xhafa Mripa (Kosova)

Doruntina Kastrati (Kosova)

Ella Raidel (Austria)

Ettore Favini (Italy)

HSU Chia Wei (Taiwan)

Ibro Hasanović (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

IRWIN (Slovenia)

Libia Castro (Spain) Olafur Olafsson (Iceland)

Oliver Ressler (Austria)

OPA (Obsessive Possessive Aggression) (Macedonia)

Rena Rädle (Germany) & Vladan Jeremić (Serbia)

Sead Kazanxhiu (Albania)

Stefano Romano (Italy)

Valentina Bonizzi (Italy)

Yannick Dauby (France)

YANG Shun-fa (Taiwan)