5 October, 2018
The Archaeological Museum is part of the hammam, built in 1498. The founder of the hammam is assumed to be Shemsudin Ahmed Bey. Lacking written sources, it is not known until when exactly the hammam was used as a public bath, however, it is known that by the mid-19th century a clock tower was built by Eshref Pasha Rrotulli over the hammam’s hot area, meaning that the hammam must have stopped being used as a bath since then.
The archaeological research carried out in 2003 on the southern side of the building, found remains of the cold area (entrance part) of the hammam on which a residential building was built. Based on this, it may be concluded that the hammam was partly ruined since the nineteenth century. The building was neglected and used by the surrounding residents as a storehouse until 1972, when restorative and conservation works began. On the 17th of November 1975, the facility was solemnly inaugurated, but with a new designation, turning the hammam into an Archaeological Museum.
The Museum features archaeological materials from sites of the Prizren region, namely from the municipalities of Prizren, Dragash, Rahovec and Suhareka. The Archaeological Museum has tremendous value as it presents a unique building with two typologies. In addition to the architectural and artistic value it possesses, the museum features many exhibits of high historical and scientific value.